Leclerc stays unstoppable

Written by: Fanni Váradi | Photo: F2 Media

Nothing could stop Charles Leclerc on today’s F2 race in Silverstone. In spite of damaged car and technical issues the young talent won the main race scoring his fifth win this season and increasing his leader gap in the championship.

The first British race started this afternoon in Silverstone with the formation lap as during the first one 3 cars, namely Nyck de Vries (Rapax) Callum Illot (Trident) and Alexander Albon stayed on the grid. The Dutch driver had serious technical issues so finished the before it actually started.

Leclerc started from pole position and got a nice start, so did Norman Nato who passed by the local Rowland stuck in the start. The worst start belongs to the Canadian, who had a great race last week in Austria but now fall back on the grid with an awful start.

Charles Leclerc had some hot moments in his car as the PREMA started smoking immediately during the race. Following the obligatory pit stop this problem got solved. After others pitted as well the PREMA driver took back his usual place in the front.

Nothing, even a torn mirror on his car could stop Leclerc who saw the checkered flag first again for the fifth time this year. Norman Nato finished second ahead of the local driver Oliver Rowland. Markelov, Canamasas, Ghiotto, King, Latifi, Galeal and Matsushita completed the top 10.

The second race will start tomorrow at 9:20 am local time with Latifi on pole.

Preliminary Qualifying Classification

  Driver Team   
1. Charles Leclerc  PREMA Racing   
2. Norman Nato  Pertamina Arden    
3. Oliver Rowland DAMS   
4. Artem Markelov  RUSSIAN TIME   
5. Sergio Canamasas Rapax   
6. Luca Ghiotto  RUSSIAN TIME    
7. Jordan King MP Motorsport    
8. Nicholas Latifi  DAMS    
9. Sean Gelael  Pertamina Arden   
10. Nobuharu Matsushita  ART Grand Prix   
11. Ralph Boschung  Campos Racing   
12. Louis Delétraz  Racing Engineering   
13. Sergio Sette Camara MP Motorsport   
14. Gustav Malja Racing Engineering   
15. Nabil Jeffri  Trident   
16. Antonio Fuoco PREMA Racing    
17. Robert Visoiu Campos Racing    
18. Alexander Albon ART Grand Prix   
19. Callum Ilott Trident   
  Not Classified      
  Nyck De Vries Rapax   
  Fastest Lap       
  Nobuharu Matsushita 1 :42.512 on lap 23  
Artículo Anterior Artículo Siguiente