Latifi scored first victory

Written by: Fanni Váradi | Photo: F2 Media

Nicholas Latifi dominated the second race last weekend. The DAMS driver lead the sprint race from start to finish and scored his first ever F2 victory.

Latifi finished the feature race at 8th position which meant pole for the sprint event. The Canadian started very well and saved the leader position ahead of Luca Ghiotto and Jordan King.

Oliver Rowland arrived to King and tried to attack when they crashed. King was the unlucky one, who had to retire in front of home audience.

The other Briton stayed in race and continued his fights now against the Russian Artem Markelov who was a bit too aggressive when forced Rowland out of track which he got a 5 seconds penalty for.
Sergio Canamasas who just arrived to Rapax team few weeks ago made an exciting show while defending the attacks by the championship leader Charles Leclerc. In the end the PREMA driver found a place by the Spanish man in the Arena and tried to close the gap on Rowland.

Ralph Boschung tried to pass by the ART driver Alexander Albon when he made the move a bit too wide and slipped on the grass and crashed into the barriers 4 laps before the end After the incident Safety Car had to come and stayed until the last lap.

Latifi got the restart well and saved his position, scoring his first ever F2 win in his career. Luca Ghiotto finished second. Oliver Rowland lost third place in the restart when he tried to slow the drivers before him down. His movement caused a penalty for him and put him back to 10th place, while Markelov passed by him on the final lap, catching the last place on the podium.  Canamasas overtook Leclerc on the last lap for P4 with an amazing movement. The Arden drivers Nato and Gelael finished behind him ahead of Nyck de Vries.

Following this round Charles Leclerc is still leading the championship with a 67 points ahead of Markelov followed by Rowland and Latifi.

The next round of Formula 2 will take place in Hungary in 2 weeks.

Provisional Sprint Race Classification

  Driver Team   
1. Nicholas Latifi DAMS   
2. Luca Ghiotto RUSSIAN TIME   
3. Artem Markelov RUSSIAN TIME   
4. Sergio Canamasas Rapax   
5. Charles Leclerc PREMA Racing   
6. Norman Nato Pertamina Arden   
7. Nyck De Vries Rapax   
8. Nobuharu Matsushita ART Grand Prix   
9. Gustav Malja Racing Engineering   
10. Oliver Rowland DAMS   
11. Alexander Albon ART Grand Prix   
12. Robert Visoiu Campos Racing   
13. Antonio Fuoco PREMA Racing   
14. Louis Delétraz Racing Engineering   
15. Callum Ilott Trident   
16. Sergio Sette Camara MP Motorsport   
17. Sean Gelael Pertamina Arden   
18. Nabil Jeffri Trident   
  Not Classified      
  Ralph Boschung Campos Racing   
  Jordan King MP Motorsport   
  Fastest Lap       
  Charles Leclerc 1 :43.219 on lap 13    
Artículo Anterior Artículo Siguiente